Skip to navigation Skip to content
30 September 2006

American tour/PopArt USA release

Next Tuesday (October 10th) Pet Shop Boys American tour begins in Montreal. The show for the American tour is an expanded version (with more songs) of the production which Pet Shop Boys have been touring throughout Europe over the summer. It is in two parts with an interval. Go to the TOUR section for venue and ticket details. It is planned that the tour will come to European venues early next year.

PopArt, the double-CD greatest hits album which was released in the UK and the rest of the world in 2003, has just been released by Capitol in the USA. The American version is a little different from the orginal release as it includes the seven-inch versions of “Flamboyant”, “Heart” and “I wouldn’t normally do this kind of thing”. The “Mix” CD is not being released in the USA but will be available from online retailers. Why has it taken three years for PopArt to be released in the USA? Quite honestly, we’re not sure…

To quote from the US press release:
On October 3, Capitol/EMI Music Catalog Marketing will release PopArt: The Hits, a 2‑CD Pet Shop Boys collection. The 35-track set features the #1 smashes “West End Girls” and “It’s A Sin,” and three more Top 10 Billboard Hot 100 chart hits, including the #2 hit duet with Dusty Springfield “What Have I Done To Deserve This?,” “Always On My Mind” and “Opportunities (Let’s Make Lots Of Money).” The duo’s 2003 U.K. singles, “Miracles” and “Flamboyant,” never before released in the U.S., are also included in the two decade-spanning set. PopArt and a digital-only Pet Shop Boys remix collection, Mix, will be available on October 3 for download from all major digital service providers. The Pet Shop Boys will tour to major U.S. cities this October and November.

Released internationally in 2003, the Pet Shop Boys’ PopArt now makes its Stateside debut. The collection’s songs are split between its two discs, “Pop” and “Art”, a decision made by the Pet Shop Boys, singer Neil Tennant and keyboardist Chris Lowe. According to Tennant, the singles on “Pop” are “direct, euphoric pop songs in the main” while those on “Art” are “more unusual songs, often involving comment and role-playing rather than straightforward lyrics.”

Pet Text
25 May 2024

Pet Shop Boys are kicking off their 2024 “Dreamworld” tour across the UK and Europe with an intimate club show at KOKO, London this Sunday, 26th May. The concert starts at 6:30pm. See you all very soon! xx

Recent News

24 May 2024

A special T‑shirt will be available to buy at Pet Shop Boys’ show at KOKO, London this Sunday, 26th May.

18 May 2024

The bonus four-track EP, “Furthermore”, which is included with the deluxe vinyl and CD formats of “Nonetheless”, is now available on streaming and download services.

10 May 2024

Pet Shop Boys’ once-a-year publication “Annually” is published today, along with an exclusive “Annually 2024” T‑shirt. Available to order exclusively through the official PSB store.

30 April 2024

Pet Shop Boys are happy to confirm Dave Pearce as special guest for their upcoming Dreamworld UK tour in June.

26 April 2024

Pet Shop Boys’ brand-new album “Nonetheless” is out now on Parlophone Records.

25 April 2024

Neil and Chris will be joining Lauren Laverne on the BBC Radio 6 Music breakfast show from 9am tomorrow morning.

24 April 2024

Hours before their new album “Nonetheless” is released into the world, PSB will be joining Jo Whiley as special guests on BBC Radio 2 for “An Evening In with Pet Shop Boys”.

15 April 2024

To celebrate the release of their new album “Nonetheless” and the 2024 leg of their “Dreamworld” world tour, Pet Shop Boys will play an intimate club show at London’s KOKO on 26th May.